All News

The University of Dubuque Inducts Munshower and Kragenbrink into Faculty Hall of Fame

By Stacey Ortman

DUBUQUE, Iowa - The University of Dubuque inducted two individuals into its Faculty Hall of Fame for Excellence in Teaching and Advising on Thursday, April 11, 2024, at the Dubuque Golf and Country Club.

Eric J. Munshower, PhD, head of the Department of Economics and professor of economics, received the 2024 John Knox Coit Prize and Lisa Kragenbrink, MSN, RN, assistant professor of nursing, received the 2024 William L. Lomax Award.

"The Faculty Hall of Fame is one of our time-honored traditions in which we recognize outstanding and distinguished faculty for their excellence in teaching and advising to our students," said Rev. Jeffrey F. Bullock, PhD, president of the University of Dubuque. "I spoke with several students taught by this year's inductees. When asked about Professor Munshower, one student said, 'He's entertaining, knowledgeable, and I still don't know which side of the political divide he's on, which is good thing.' Students described Professor Kragenbrink as someone who 'combines the best of nursing theory with actual practice (and) she has taught us that our first commitment is to the patients we serve.' It's an honor to induct Professor Munshower and Professor Kragenbrink into the Faculty Hall of Fame."

2024 John Knox Coit Prize
As a biology major in college, Eric J. Munshower realized he enjoyed economics more than science labs. That discovery led him to graduate school in economics versus medical school and, eventually, to UD where he has served in various roles related to economics since 2001.

Munshower has taught undergraduate economics and Master of Business Administration classes at UD in Dubuque, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei, and Mainland China. He has served as director of the Master of Business Administration program where he worked closely with the director of institutional development to create the Asian Cohort Programs. Most recently, Munshower worked on the development of UD's new economics major and served as the first chair of the Department of Economics.

"I enjoy providing an opportunity to learn for students that have often not been given that opportunity for reasons beyond their control," he said.

Munshower received a bachelor of science in biology from St. John's University in Collegeville, Minnesota, and a doctor of philosophy from Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana. He and his wife, Judy, are the proud parents of three children, Jayne, Nathan, and Alison.

2024 John Knox Coit Prize
Lisa Kragenbrink's passion for education began when she started to precept students at the University of Iowa in Iowa City, Iowa, although it took some time to formally step into the role of educator. She joined UD in 2008. As an assistant professor of nursing, Kragenbrink believes in challenging her students to think critically, to treat others with respect and dignity, and to have strong moral character.

"Each day I'm excited and challenged by students in the classroom and the clinical setting as they work toward their goal to becoming a registered nurse," Kragenbrink said.

In addition to her faculty role, Kragenbrink is the advisor for the University of Dubuque Student Nursing Association as well as Lambda Tau Delta when the sorority is active on campus. Her areas of interests include medical surgical nursing, healthcare for the LGBTQ+ population, and geriatrics.

Kragenbrink received a bachelor of science in nursing from the University of Iowa and a master's degree in nursing education from Clarke University in Dubuque, Iowa. She and her husband, David, are the proud parents of three children and three grandchildren.

About the Faculty Hall of Fame
Thanks to the generosity of UD Board of Trustees member Richard "Dick" (C'71) and the late Donna Svrluga, the Faculty Hall of Fame for Excellence in Teaching and Advising was established in 1996 to recognize faculty for their outstanding teaching and advising as well as their commitment to the Mission of the University of Dubuque. Two of the awards are named in honor of former distinguished faculty.

John Knox Coit Prize
An integral member of the Department of Philosophy from 1955 to 1965, Professor Coit was more than a teacher. He became a mentor and friend to his students. Known as a "man of wit," he made a lasting impression on his students. Coit died in 1995 at the age of 79.

William L. Lomax Award
Fondly remembered by his students who studied business, Professor Lomax was smart, tough, fair, no-nonsense, and fun. As a member of the Department of Business from 1953 to 1969, he influenced the lives of many students. Lomax died in 1986 at the age of 83.

The Faculty Hall of Fame wall is displayed on the second floor of Heritage Center.