Wrestling Day One of NCAA Lower Midwest Regional Qualifier

Feb 29, 2020

Trackwrestling Live Results

Sunday Mar 1, 2020
10:15 a.m.                  Doors open for Spectators
11:00 a.m.                  Championship Semifinal & Consolation Third Round
1:00 p.m.                    Consolation Semifinals
2:30 p.m.                    Championship/3rd/5th/7th place matches

DUBUQUE, Iowa - Wrestlers of the American Rivers Conference embark on the Five Flags Center in Dubuque Iowa Saturday, February 29 and Sunday, March 1 for the Lower Midwest Regional, each wrestlers' opportunity to punch their ticket to the NCAA Division III Championships.

The Spartans opened with five dominating wins in the first round:
133- Brendan Hazelton (UD) won by fall over Axel Hernandez (Buena Vista) 0-2 (Fall 3:46).
141- Dakota Unpingco (UD) won by tech fall over Alex Cruz (Augustana (IL)) 10-16 (TF-1.5 3:51 (16-0)). 165- Zarik Anderson (UD) won by fall over Dalton Cockman (Simpson) 15-8 (Fall 2:12).
184- Chris Nielsen (UD) won by major decision over Arnold Fox (Millikin) 0-1 (MD 11-1).
285- Darryl Aiello (UD) won by fall over Daniel Skold (Augustana (IL)) (Fall 0:32)

Quarterfinal –
133-  Mason McMillen (Loras) won by fall over Brendan Hazelton (UD)  (Fall 0:37)
141- Dan Radcliffe (Central (IA)) won by major decision over Dakota Unpingco (UD) (MD 14-2)
165- Eddie Smith (Loras) won by decision over Zarik Anderson (UD) (Dec 5-0)
184- Quarterfinal - Shane Liegel (Loras) won by major decision over Chris Nielsen (UD) (MD 14-0)
285- Duncan Lee (Central (IA)) 25-6 won by decision over Darryl Aiello (Dubuque) 20-3 (Dec 6-2)

Cons. Round 1 –
125- Aaron Black (Dubuque) won by fall over Tyler Laudick (Neb. Wesleyan)  (Fall 3:55)
149 - Klayton Keller (Cornell College) won by major decision over Greg Krulus (UD)  (MD 11-2)
157- Jessy Diaz (Dubuque) won by fall over Tyler Menegay (Luther) (Fall 1:17)
174- Tevin Bailey (Dubuque) won by fall over John Marsh (Cornell College)  (Fall 1:12)
197 - Ethan Cain (Dubuque) 5-4 won by disqualification over Sam Mathis (Simpson) 12-16 (DQ)

Cons. Round 2 -
125- Brady Kyner (Wartburg) won by major decision over Aaron Black (Dubuque) (MD 12-3)
133- Eron Haynes (Neb. Wesleyan) won by decision over Brendan Hazelton (Dubuque)  (Dec 10-9)
141- Ryan Smales (Neb. Wesleyan) won by fall over Dakota Unpingco (Dubuque) (Fall 6:44)
157-  Tristan Birt (Millikin) won by decision over Jessy Diaz (Dubuque) (Dec 7-6)
165- Zarik Anderson (Dubuque) won by fall over Parker Preul (Buena Vista) (Fall 2:34)
174-  Tevin Bailey (Dubuque) won by tech fall over Shyler Langley (Simpson) (TF-S 2:41 (16-0))
184- Chris Nielsen (Dubuque) 7-4 won by fall over Diego Escarcega (Buena Vista) 1-2 (Fall 2:21)
197- Ethan Cain (Dubuque) 6-4 won by fall over Ben Bergen (North Central (IL)) 28-9 (Fall 1:57)
285- Justin Hennessy (Neb. Wesleyan) 3-1 won by fall over Darryl Aiello (Dubuque) 20-4 (Fall 2:59)

The regional serves as the NCAA's qualifier for the National Championships, with the top three wrestlers at each weight advancing. One-hundred and eighty qualifiers will emerge from this weekend's six regionals to line up inside the U.S. Cellular for the NCAA Division III Wrestling Championships. The American Rivers Conference and Cedar Rapids Tourism are hosting the 2020 National Championships in Cedar Rapids, Iowa Friday, March 13 and Saturday, March 14. Visit the Championship site (linked above) for more information and get your tickets today!

The 18-team region consists of Augustana (Ill.), Buena Vista, Central, No. 5 Coe, Cornell, No.25 Dubuque, Fontbonne, Huntingdon, No.1 Loras, No.20 Luther,  MacMurray, Millikin, Nebraska Wesleyan, No.14 North Central (Ill.), Simpson, University of the Ozarks, No.2 Wartburg,  and Westminster.

Twenty-five wrestlers among the 18 schools are ranked in the national top-10. Of those 25, 16 are from the American Rivers Conference. The rankings also display nine returning All-Americans, and six prior national tournament qualifiers. Of the returning All-Americans, eight are from the A-R-C, as are three of the six returning qualifiers. University of Dubuque's freshman, No.NR/9 Darryl Aiello (Jr.) is among the A-R-C's ranked wrestlers.  

UD's Probable Line-up:

25 - Aaron Black (14-9) So. Clearbrook, Va./James Woods

133 - Brenden Hazelton (12-1) Sr. Clinton Township, Mich./L’Anse Creuse

141 - Dakota Upingco (4-3) Fr. Brentwood, Calif./Freedom

149 - Greg Krulas (7-1) Sr. Freeport, Ill./Dakota

157 - Jessy Diaz (10-5) Jr. Yuma, Ariz./Holtzville

165 - Zarik Anderson (16-10)  Jr. Rockwall, Texas/Heath

174 - Tevin Bailey (2-3) Jr. Las Vegas, Nev./VC Highlands

184 - Chris Nielsen (6-3) Jr. Little Egg Harbor, N.J./Pinelands Regional

197 - Ethan Cain (4-3) Sr. Polo, Ill./Polo

285 - Darryl Aiello (20-2)  Jr. Concord, Calif./De La Salle