Ragen, Butler and Burger Pick Up All-Conference Selections

Mar 5, 2020

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa – The American Rivers Conference announced the 2019-20 men’s basketball all-conference teams on Thursday afternoon, with Peter Ragen being selected first team, while Avery Butler and Mitch Burger were named honorable mention.

Ragen (Jr., Orland Park, Ill./Joliet Catholic) highlighted the Spartan selections with first team honors. Ragen played and started in all 25 of UD’s games, averaging 15.3 pointers per game, 6.8 rebounds and 1.5 assists. His 15.3 points per game was good enough for eighth best in the conference and was fifth in rebounds with 169.

Ragen dropped a season-high 29 points at Loras on Jan. 18th and scored 20 points or more eight different times. This is Ragen’s first career all-conference honor.

For the second straight year, Avery Butler was awarded honorable mention honors. In his senior season, Butler averaged 10.3 points per game and 6.6 rebounds over 21 games played. Butler eclipsed the 10 point mark in 12 different games, with a season best 22 points coming in a win at home over Coe College.

Mitch Burger rounded out the all-conference selections, joining Butler among the honorable mentions. Burger was one of the premier three-point shooters in the conference, making 50 over 24 games for 2.1 makes per game, the sixth best average in the league. At Wisconsin-Stout on Dec. 20th, Burger dropped a career-high 35 points on 12-18 shooting from the field. He also scored 33 points against Millikin and 29 points at Luther.

Most Valuable Player - Nate Schimonitz, Sr., Nebraska Wesleyan University
Defensive Player of the Year - Adam McDermott, Sr., Coe College
Coach of the Year - Dale Wellman, Nebraska Wesleyan University

Timothy Jeffries     Buena Vista University                
Austin Roth           Coe College              
Adam McDermott   Coe College
JT Ford                  Loras College                                     
Rowan McGowen    Loras College
Jack Hiller             Nebraska Wesleyan University
Conor Riordan        Simpson College
Peter Ragen        University of Dubuque

Michael Demers     Buena Vista University
Dominic Sesma      Buena Vista University                
Adam Flinn            Central College              
Jacob Robertson     Coe College                     
Clay Reimers          Nebraska Wesleyan University                              
Nate Bahe              Nebraska Wesleyan University                              
Adam Reiter           Simpson College
Kyle Wagner          Simpson College

Honorable Mention
Josh Schmitt           Coe College
Mitch Burger         University of Dubuque
Avery Butler         University of Dubuque

Max Smith Drahos  Wartburg College
Jack Molstead         Wartburg College
Ryan Stulken          Wartburg College