Cross Country Teams Named USTFCCCA All-Academic

Jan 30, 2020


The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced the 2019 All-Academic Teams and All-Academic Athletes Thursday, January 30, 2020. The University of Dubuque earned honors for both women's and men's cross country teams for 2019-2020 for head coach Rich Maleniak. The American Rivers Conference (A-R-C) was led by all nine women's teams and seven men's teams.

To qualify for All-Academic distinction, teams must have a cumulative GPA of 3.1 on a 4.0 scale. Overall, there were 212 women's teams and 172 men's teams who received All-Academic honors in NCAA Division III. Earning All-Academic A-R-C Team honors were: Olivia Costley, Megan Ely, Nikki Fehns, Mackenzie Helgemoe, Danielle Johnsen, Isabella Mazzanti, Mark Biechler, Riley Royce, Tyler Cernohous, Jacob Heitter, Jayden Oshirak, Tavian Rumple, and Joseph Tobin. To be named A-R-C All-Academic, the student-athlete must maintain a 3.5 cumulative grade point average or above and be a sophomore or above in academic standing.

UD finished ninth in the women's A-R-C cross country championships and the men's team placed seventh overall.

Women's All-Academic Teams

Buena Vista University 3.34
Central College 3.17
Coe College 3.52
University of Dubuque 3.78
Loras College 3.65
Luther College 3.54
Nebraska Wesleyan University 3.52
Simpson College 3.29
Wartburg College 3.29
Men's All-Academic Teams
Central College 3.17
Coe College 3.27
University of Dubuque 3.62
Luther College 3.45
Nebraska Wesleyan University 3.61
Simpson College 3.22
Wartburg College 3.17