A-R-C Women's Tennis Individual Tournament

Oct 11, 2019

Tournament Results

Tournament Schedule (Tentative)

Cedar Rapids, Iowa -- The 2019 American Rivers Conference Women's Tennis Individual Flighted Singles (A,B,C) and Doubles (A,B) Tournament will take place Friday, October 11 and Saturday, October 12. Due to inclement weather, low temperatures and high winds the 2019 Women's Tennis Individual Tournament will be moved to the indoor courts at Black Hawk Tennis Club in Waterloo, Iowa and Wartburg College in Waverly, Iowa. Competition will begin at 8:30 a.m. both days

SCHEDULE (Draws and Tentative Court Assignments on the Tournament Central page under "Featured Links")
Begin play at 8:30 a.m. (Black Hawk) and 8:45 a.m. (Wartburg)
A- Doubles Begins at 8:30 a.m. - LOCATION - Black Hawk
B-Doubles (Bottom Half) at 8:30 a.m. - LOCATION - Black Hawk
B-Doubles (Top Half) begins at 8:45 a.m. - LOCATION - Wartburg
A/B-Singles will begin after A/B-Doubles are played through the quarterfinals - LOCATION - Black Hawk
C-Singles will begin as soon as the top half of B-Doubles is played through the quarterfinals - LOCATION - Wartburg

This years tournament, hosted by Loras College, will feature 19 players in the A-flight singles, 32 B-flight singles players, and 31 entries in the C-flight singles. Doubles action will see 12 teams take the court in the A-flight and 28 in the B-flight. 

Three of the top four finishers from the 2018 A-Singles flight return to the field for a shot at gold. Coe's Isabella Joppenjans took second a year ago while Luther's Devon Bourget earned third and Audrey Hinz of Loras came in fourth. After taking first in the B-Singles flight a season ago, Maddie Overmann of Wartburg joins the A-Flight in 2019. 

Gabby Olenjniczak of Wartburg is the highest returning finisher in the tournament's B-Flight. Olenjniczak took second a year ago. 2018 C-Singles champion, Anna Spencer of Luther and runner-up Katie Larson of Central join the B-Flight this year. Maci Scharff of Central, who took fourth in the C-Flight last year, also moves into the B-Flight. 

With the C-Flight seeing all medal winners from a season ago move into the B-Flight or graduate, medals will be handed to new faces in 2019. 

A-Doubles returns one player from each of the top four teams from 2018. Hoppenjans, who was part of the gold medal winning team last year, partners with Eliza Sundermann this weekend. Wartburg's runner-up team from a season ago returns Hannah Fox. Fox will partner with Overmann, who was half of the B-Doubles championship team. Karleigh Schilling of Central teams with Laurynn Mize this year, with the goal of improving on Schilling's fourth place finish in 2018. The top seed in this year's A-Doubles flight is Bourget and Shelby Cook of Luther. Cook was part of the A-Doubles runner-up team last year. 

After earning gold in the B-Doubles flight last season, Wartburg's Olenjnicak teams with a new partner in 2019. Rebekah Carson and Olenjnicak will chase gold this weekend. Luther's Spencer, half of the B-Doubles fourth place team a season ago, joins Aurora Schossow for this weekend's tournament. 

Draws for the 2019 championship can be found on tournament page. Updated results will be posted to the tournament page throughout the weekend. 

First Round

Macy Scharff (Central) def. Ashley Quinonez (Dubuque) 8-7 (8-6)
Laurynn Mize (Central) def. Hailey Wang (Dubuque) 8-7 (7-1)

First Round
Lauren Colon (Dubuque) def. Ashlynn Brant (Central) 8-0
Sydney Clausen (Luther) def. TaDazja Perkins (Dubuque) 8-3
Emily Rubbelke (Luther) def. Patient Jabbah (Dubuque) 8-1
Samantha Heins (Dubuque) def. Lorin Miller (Simpson) 8-2

First Round
Karleigh Schilling/Laurynn Mize (Central) def. Ashley Quinonez/Hailey Wang (Dubuque) 8-4

First Round
Lauren Colon/TaDazja Perkins (Dubuque) def. Sophia Craig/Michella Pinto (Coe) 8-5
Meghann Long/Maddie Smith (Loras) def. Samantha Heins/Patient Jabbah (Dubuque) 8-1
Second Round
Sarah Schirm/Alex Griggs (Central) def. Lauren Colon/TaDazja Perkins (Dubuque) 8-7 (14-12)