Pair of Spartans Baseball Pitchers Earn ABCA All-Region

May 31, 2019

2019 ABCA All-Region

Season Statistics

GREENSBORO, N.C. - The 2019 American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA)/Rawlings NCAA Div. III All-Region teams and Regional Players of the Year have been announced in all eight regions. The teams are voted on by members of the American Baseball Coaches Association and the process is led by the ABCA NCAA Div. III All-America Committee. The University of Dubuque's Chase Kueter (Sr., Bellevue, Iowa/Bellevue H.S.) and Nathan Schneiderman (Sr., LHP, German Valley, Ill./Forreston H.S.) were honored as Second Team Central Region performers for the 2019 season. 

The pair of seniors helped UD to the semifinals of the 2019 American Rivers Conference Tournament and finished the season with a 26-15-1 overall record. Schneiderman led the Spartans with a low 1.57 ERA after pitching 51.2 innings, he finished with 67 strikeouts and a 4-0 mark with six saves. Kueter led UD with an 8-5 record with a 2.95 ERA after tossing 94.2 innings and five complete games. He fanned 116 batters and walked just 16 this season.

ABCA/Rawlings All-Region first-team selections are nominated for ABCA/Rawlings All-America honors. The ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. III All-Americans will be announced the evening of Thursday, May 30. The ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams for all divisions will be announced Wednesday, June 19.

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now includes nine divisions: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and high school. ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were first recognized in 2007.

The Chair of the ABCA NCAA Div. III All-America & Coach of the Year Committee is Paul Hesse of the University of Mount Union. Also on the committee are Derek Carlson (Brandeis University), Dean Glus (The College of New Jersey), Ray Hedrick (Randolph-Macon College), Luke Johnson (North Park University), Scott Laverty (Chapman University), Corey Paluga (Elmira College) and Kevin Tomasiewicz (University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh).

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 11,000 members represent all 50 states and 25 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 76th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 2-5, 2020 in Nashville, Tennessee.

2019 Central-ABCA/Rawlings All-Region Teams
NCAA Div. III Central All-Region First Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
C Rob Marinec So. North Central  IL
1B Vince Schwartz Jr. Carthage WI
2B Bryce Rheault Jr. Buena Vista IA
3B Ben Swords So. Webster MO
SS Eric Meyer Jr. Spalding KY
OF Quenton Brownlee Sr. Spalding KY
OF Ryan Clavin So. Westminster MO
OF Mathew Putman Sr. Carroll WI
DH Truman Schmitt Jr. Simpson IA
UT John Brinkman Jr. Washington St. Louis MO
P John Howard Sr.  Washington St. Louis MO
P Luke Summers Jr. Fontbonne MO
P Zach Kammin Jr. Coe IA
P Matt Mulhearn Jr. Webster MO
RP Gage Smart Jr.  Buena Vista IA
NCAA Div. III Central All-Region Second Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
C Michael Barnes Sr. Ripon WI
1B Garrett Shea Jr. Illinois Wesleyan IL
3B Cale Jamesson Jr. Cornell IA
SS Caleb Durbin Fr. Washington St. Louis MO
OF Sean Green Sr.  Eureka IL
OF Jon Walters Sr. Millikin IL
OF Jeremy Quade Sr. North Central  IL
OF Colton Klein So. Carthage WI
OF Nick Figus Jr.  Illinois Wesleyan IL
DH Anthony DiNardo Sr.  North Park IL
UT Caleb Wichman Sr. Cornell IA
UT TJ Johnson So. Coe IA
P Charlie Klemm So. North Central  IL
P Chase Kueter Sr. Dubuque IA
P Nate Schneiderman  Sr. Dubuque IA
P Brice Swick Jr. Ripon WI
RP Adrian Santiago Sr. Webster MO
NCAA Div. III Central All-Region Third Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
C Luke Plunkett Fr. Luther IA
C Ranko Stevanovic Jr. North Park  IL
1B Jordan Kaplan Jr. Coe IA
2B Brett Reinhart Jr. St. Norbert WI
3B John Hoevelmann Sr. Fontbonne MO
SS Garrett Saunders Sr. Central  IA
SS Jake Reinhardt Jr. North Park  IL
OF Payton Jancsy Jr. Chicago IL
OF Kevin DeLaney Sr. Coe IA
OF Garrett Wilson Jr.  Spalding KY
UT Jordan Scrimpsher Jr. Elmhurst  IL
P Sean Beaver So. Webster MO
P Michael McCraith Sr. Wheaton IL
P Quinn Gudaitis So. Illinois Wesleyan IL
P Ryan Loutos So. Washington St. Louis MO
P Adam Zuk Jr. Millikin  IL
P Zach Jones So. Spalding KY
RP John Hayes So. Augustana IL
Central Position Player of the Year: Bryce Rheault, Jr., 2B, Buena Vista
Central Pitcher of the Year: John Howard, Sr., Washington St. Louis