Four Spartans Pick Up All-Conference Honors

May 14, 2019

Jordan Nelson

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa – The Amercian Rivers Conference announced that 2019 All-Conference baseball team on Wednesday, naming four Spartans to the list. The A-R-C coaches voted Chase Kueter and Nathan Schneiderman to the first team, Jordan Nelson second team and JJ Valenica picked up honorable mention honors.

For the third straight year, seniors Chase Kueter (Bellevue, Iowa/Bellvue) and Nathan Schneiderman (German Valley, Ill./Forreston) were voted first team all-conference. In his senior campaign, Kueter appeared in 14 games, starting 13. Over those 14 games, he pitched 94.2 innings, striking out 116 batters, both marks are the most among American Rivers Conference pitchers. Kueter’s eight wins in 2019 put him atop the UD record book for wins in a season and also broke the career wins record with 20. Kueter would cap his career with a school record for career strikeouts with 274, and career innings pitched at 289.

Schneiderman leaves UD as the all-time saves leader in program history, shattering the previous record and finishing with 19. In 2019, Schneiderman finished with the second lowest ERA among A-R-C pitchers at 1.57. He would appear in 17 games, appearing in relief in 13 of the 17, he amass a 4-0 record, six saves and 67 strikeouts in 51.2 innings.

Jordan Nelson (Iowa City, Iowa/Regina) grabbed all-conference honors for the first time in his career after a solid junior season. Nelson started 10 of the 12 games that he took the mound in 2019, working his way to a 5-4 record and threw two complete games. Over his 65.1 innings, he had an ERA of 3.31 after allowing just 24 earned runs, while striking out 52 opposing batters and walking just 16 for a 3.33 k/walk ratio.

JJ Valencia (Marysville, Wash./Marysville-Pilchuck) concluded his UD career by picking up Honorable Mention All-American Rivers Conference honors. Valenica appeared and started in all but two of UD’s games in 2019, hitting .260 (34-131), with nine extra base hits, drawing 20 free passes. Valencia would drive in 20 RBI, the third most on the team and also scored 28 runs of his own. He also would swipe 12 bags on 15 stolen bases attempts.

Position Player of the Year - Bryce Rheault, Buena Vista University
Pitcher of the Year - Zach Kammin, Coe College
Coach of the Year - Steve Cook, Coe College

First Team                             School                                      Pos.
Chase Kueter                        University of Dubuque             SP          
Jack Greene                           Coe College                                SP          
Andrew Schmit                      Coe College                                 SP          
Colin Coffey                           Luther College                            SP          
Nathan Schneiderman        University of Dubuque              RP          
Luke Plunkett                        Luther College                             C            
Jordan Kaplan                       Coe College                                 1B          
Austin Konagel                      Loras College                               2B          
Jake Halverson                      Luther College                             SS          
Bryce Hingst                          Luther College                             3B          
Kevin DeLaney                      Coe College                                  OF         
Jacob Burns                          Coe College                                  OF         
Trent Athmann                      Luther College                              OF         
Tyler Hovick                          Wartburg College                         OF         
Riley LeGrand                        Coe College                                 DH         
TJ Johnson                              Coe College                               UT         

Second Team                        School                                      Pos.      
Dylan Gotto                           Wartburg College                        SP          
Egan Bonde                           Buena Vista University                 SP          
Jordan Nelson                      University of Dubuque             SP          
Joey Cardamon                      Luther College                            SP          
Gage Smart                           Buena Vista University                 RP          
Daniel Berger                         Coe College                                 C            
Derek Kolbush                        Nebraska Wesleyan                    1B          
Nolan Arp                              Coe College                                2B          
Garrett Saunders                   Central College                            SS          
Dylan Pardoe                         Loras College                              3B          
Peyton Renning                     Buena Vista University                  OF         
Jake Vogt                              Luther College                             OF         
Coy Moore                             Central College                           OF         
Jojo Mcnair                            Wartburg College                        OF         
Truman Schmitt                     Simpson College                         DH         
Tanner Wood                         Central College                           UT         

Honorable Mention               School                                      Pos.
JJ Valencia                            University of Dubuque             OF         
John Colucci                           Luther College                             SP          
Nick Long                               Central College                           SP          
Devin Creger                          Simpson College                         3B
 Brady Held                            Simpson College                         UT         
Nick Henrichs                         Buena Vista University                UT