Jerry Petitgoue Award

The Jerry Petitgoue Award is named after University of Dubuque graduate Jerry Petitgoue (C' 1973). This special award was established in 2012 to honor an alumnus coach who best represents Petitgoue's tenacity, strong work ethic, and care for athletes of any age, at any level.

Petitgoue, the long-time boys basketball coach at Cuba City High School in Cuba City, Wisconsin, is the winningest coach in the state of Wisconsin history with 846 wins (through the 2012-13 season). In 46 years of coaching he has won 29 conference championships including a current streak of seven consecutive titles. He has also won three state championships (1981, 1991, and 1998) and finished as runner-up in 2012. Petitgoue was inducted into the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Hall of Fame in 2003.

Recipients of the Jerry Petitgoue Award

2013        Paul Rundquist        Class of 1996         
2014   Clay Shaffer   Class of 1973   Story
2015   Jay Herkelman   Class of 1986    
2016   Jon West   Class of 1973   Story
2017   Colleen Finn-Henze   Class of 1987   Story
2018   Dennis Riley    Class of 1974