Aviation Management

The Bachelor of Science in Aviation Management prepares students for a career in any aspect of business, leadership and managerial roles in the aviation industry.  Students have the opportunity to explore and learn the management and operation of domestic and international airlines, modern airports, corporate aviation, and fixed-base operators (FBO's). 

What You Will Learn

  • Demonstrate the impact of aviation, technology, and business sustainability in a global and societal context.
  • Apply the techniques, skills, and modern aviation management tools to perform business related tasks.
  • Function on a multi-disciplinary and diverse management team which includes technical and management issues.
  • Utilize mathematics, science and/or applied science to ensure safe and efficient operations.
  • Accurately analyze and interpret data to solve a variety of complex problems.
  • Recognize and apply ethical and professional excellence for responsible decision-making.
  • Communicate effectively with precision and clarity within aviation and related industries.
  • Engage in and recognize the need for life-long learning.

A University of Dubuque degree in aviation management prepares students for a career in nearly every aspect of business and management within the aviation industry. Designed with a strong aviation and business core, students will gain an understanding of the various branches of business within the industry from airports, FBO’s, airlines, corporate flight departments, and everywhere in between.

Schedule a visit today! Tour the University campus and Flight Operations Center at the Dubuque Regional Airport. Speak with our professors about career paths in aviation and meet our friendly staff. We can't wait to share our passion for aviation.


Program Assessment

The Aviation Department uses an annual (Academic Year) process to look formally at an outcome or set of outcomes. Plans are developed in August, lead faculty for each outcome are assigned, interim reviews are conducted in January, draft reports are due in June, and final reports are due no later than October.

We collect signature data from a minimum of one course per learning outcome. The Aviation Department uses external and internal assessments to identify areas of weakness and where possible areas of interest. When shortcomings are determined, plans are developed and resources are gathered to address these issues.

Minutes are the primary set of evidence indicating future actions. Formal assessments result in plans to address shortcomings as well as to take no action when the process provides validation.

The following departments and committees participate in assessment of outcomes. Identified program recommendations are followed up with syllabi changes, course flow adjustments, and program development to address short comings.

• The Curriculum Committee and Core Committee
• Assessment Committee

AABI 3.4.2 Comprehensive Self-Analysis

Student Achievement Data - Aviation Management


What Our Students Do

The University of Dubuque Aviation Management Program allows students the opportunity to explore and learn the management and operation of both domestic and international airlines, modern airports, corporate aviation, and fixed-base operators (FBO’s).  Students receive opportunities to get out of the classroom and get hands-on experience in each of these various areas. Additionally, class trips to places such as United Airlines in Chicago, John Deere and Elliott Aviation in Moline, and several different airports enhance the learning expereince. 

Where Our Graduates Go

University of Dubuque Aviation Management graduates go all directions. Recent graduates of the University of Dubuque Aviation Management Program have found careers in air traffic control at the Chicago Air Route Traffic Control Center (ARTCC), the corporate offices of Republic Airlines, various branches of the military, American Airlines, O’Hare Airport, and many other places. 

News from the Department

The Aviation Programs have settled into their new location in the Babka Flight Center less than a mile down Airport Road from the old Flight Operations Center. 

University of Dubuque's Spring Aviation Career Days will be held April 30, 2020 from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Aviation employers will be available to answer questions in the Iowa Hangar on their segment of the industry. Mock and real interviews will take place in the Americas Hangar concurrently.

 

Aviation Management - Program of Study - US Students

The courses below are a program sample of what students may encounter. Students will meet with their advisers to develop a personal educational program to plan their elective course choices, internships, undergraduate research, and other educational opportunities and experiences.

Aviation Management Grad Plan 2019


Aviation Management - Program of Study - International Students

The courses below are a program sample of what students may encounter. Students will meet with their advisers to develop a personal educational program to plan their elective course choices, internships, undergraduate research, and other educational opportunities and experiences.‌

Aviation Management Grad Plan 2019 - International Students


Travis Amezquita
Travis Amezquita
Flight Instructor - Fixed Wing (Part-time)


Email: TAmezquita@dbq.edu 

Zach Augustine
Zach Augustine
Flight Instructor - Rotor Wing



Jo Lynn Bentz
Jo Lynn Bentz
Application Support Manager - Aviation Department

BS, Mount Mercy College



Office Phone: 563.589.3928
Email: JBentz@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Skylar Bernhardt
Skylar Bernhardt
Flight Instructor



Kyle Booth
Kyle Booth
Flight Instructor (Part-time)


Email: KBooth@dbq.edu 

Tyler Carlson
Tyler Carlson
Flight Instructor


Email: TCarlson@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Ben Cashman
Ben Cashman
Flight Instructor


Email: BCashman@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Jennifer Chance
Jennifer Chance
Flight Instructor


Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Alex Cleven
Alex Cleven
Flight Instructor - Fixed Wing


Email: Acleven@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 119 Babka Aviation Learning Center

Mike Contino
Mike Contino
Flight Instructor


Email: JContino@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Candace Dalsing
Candace Dalsing
Aviation Dispatch


Office Phone: 563.589.3820
Email: cdalsing@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Cooper Diedrich
Cooper Diedrich
Flight Instructor


Email: CDiedrich@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

James Drury
James Drury
Flight and Aviation Specialist

MBA, University of Dubuque
BS, University of Dubuque
AGI-I; CFI



Office Phone: 563.589.3679
Email: JDrury@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Babka Aviation Learning Center
Fax: 563.589.3722

Bryan Eggers
Bryan Eggers
Assistant Chief - Rotor Wing


Office Phone: 563.589.3805
Email: beggers@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Babka Aviation Learning Center

Sara Ellert-Beck
Sara Ellert-Beck
Assistant Professor of Aviation

MSA, Central Michigan University
BS, United States Air Force Academy



Office Phone: 563.589.3315
Email: sellert@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 308 Severance Hall
Biography - Click Here

Sara began flying airplanes at the age of 15.  By 17 she had a pilot's license and appointment to the United States Air Force Academy.  Sara served in the United States Air Force from 1981 until 1991, primarily as an Air Traffic Control Officer. 

After leaving the Air Force, Sara received a master's level certification in environmental management from West Coast University in Los Angeles and worked as an environmental airspace consultant.

Sara began working for the University of Dubuque as an adjunct professor in both business and aviation for several years before becoming a full-time faculty member in the Department of Aviation. 


Jack Erickson
Jack Erickson
Flight Instructor


Email: jerickson@dbq.edu 

Tony Foster, Ph.D.
Tony Foster, Ph.D.
Aviation Department - Head of Academics

Ph.D., University of North Dakota
MAS, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
BS, University of Dubuque



Office Phone: 563.589.3815
Email: TFoster@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 111 Babka Aviation Learning Center (BFC)

Michael Glynn
Michael Glynn
Aviation Pilot Examiner

BS, University of Dubuque



Office Phone: 563.589.3277
Email: MGlynn@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center
Fax: 563.589.3179

Nick Glynn
Nick Glynn
Certified Flight Instructor


Email: NGlynn@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Kenneth Godwin
Kenneth Godwin
Assistant Professor

MBA, University of Dubuque; Business Administration
BS, University of Dubuque; Aviation Management

Office Phone: 563.589.3761
Email: kgodwin@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 302 Severance Hall
Fax: 563.589.3177

Robert Grierson
Robert Grierson
Adjunct Faculty

MPA
BA



Email: Rgrierson@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center
Biography - Click Here

Robert A. Grierson, AAE, is currently serving as the manager of the Dubuque Regional Airport. He previously managed the Chico Municipal Airport and served as assistant director for the Fresno Airport System. Robert Managed the operating and capital budgets for O’Hare, Midway & Meigs for the City of Chicago, and served as Commissioner on the DuPage Airport Authority.

Robert holds a master and bachelor degrees in public administration. He is an Accredited Airport Executive by the American Association of Airport Executives. He served second term as president of the Iowa Public Airports Association. Robert has 30 years of experience in airport management, has been teaching undergraduate and graduate classes since 1996, and is an active pilot with commercial, instrument, multi-engine, and helicopter ratings.

Robert retired as full Colonel with over 38 years of military service, and he was awarded the Legion of Merit, Bronze Star, and Master Army Aviator Badge.

Robert is married with two sons, one at University of Missouri, the other at University of Iowa.


Bryan Gutraj
Bryan Gutraj
Flight Instructor - Fixed-Wing

J.D., UIC John Marshall Law School
BS, Eastern Illinois University



Email: BGutraj@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Babka Aviation Learning Center
Biography - Click Here

Following a career in accounting and law, Bryan has joined the University of Dubuque Aviation Department to share his passion for flying with students at UD. Originally from the Chicago area, Bryan enjoys golfing, traveling, hiking, and exploring the Dubuque area with his dog Shelby in his free time.


Lane Hawkins
Lane Hawkins
Flight Instructor


Email: LHawkins@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Babka Aviation Learning Center

Jane Heming
Jane Heming
Administrative Services and Stakeholder Relations Manager


Office Phone: 563.589.3180
Email: jheming@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 113 Babka Aviation Learning Center
Fax: 563.589.3352

Hala Hilal
Hala Hilal
Instructor
Professional Tutor / Saudi Arabian Students Counselor

Master Degree in Financial Markets, The Arab Academy for Banking and Financial Sciences
BS, Aleppo University; Marketing



Office Phone: 563.589.3511
Email: HHilal@dbq.edu 

Verlyn Isaac
Verlyn Isaac
Aviation Shuttle Driver



Eric Jannusch
Eric Jannusch
Fixed-Wing Check Instructor


Email: EJannusch@dbq.edu 

James S. Jenkins
James S. Jenkins
Director of Aviation Maintenance

BS, University of Dubuque



Office Phone: 563.589.3812
Email: jjenkins@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center
Fax: 563.589.3179

Kyle  Jones
Kyle  Jones
Assistant Chief Flight Instructor


Email: KJones@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Babka Aviation Learning Center

Polly Kadolph
Polly Kadolph
Associate Professor of Aviation

MBA, University of Dubuque
BS, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3120
Email: pkadolph@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 314 Severance Hall
Fax: 563.589.3177


Joan Kariuki
Joan Kariuki
Aircraft Mechanic
AAT Faculty


Office Phone: 563.589.3812
Email: jkariuki@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Derek Krohnke
Derek Krohnke
Flight Instructor - Fixed Wing


Email: Dkrohnke@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 119 Babka Aviation Learning Center

Zarick Kuehl
Zarick Kuehl
Chief Flight Instructor - Rotor Wing


Email: ZKuehl@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Babka Aviation Learning Center

Trevor Lee
Trevor Lee
Flight Instructor


Email: TLee@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Babka Aviation Learning Center

Rich Lindenberg
Rich Lindenberg
Aviation Shuttle Driver



Jamin Lorch
Jamin Lorch
Aviation Maintenance Assistant


Email: JLorch@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Babka Aviation Learning Center

Sandra Lorenz
Sandra Lorenz
Aviation Shuttle Driver



Cathy Munoz
Cathy Munoz
Check Instructor


Email: CMunoz@dbq.edu 

Tevin Pangelinan
Tevin Pangelinan
Flight Instructor - Fixed Wing (Part-time)


Email: TPangelinan@dbq.edu 

Suzanne Peterson
Suzanne Peterson
Chief Flight Instructor

BS, University of Dubuque



Office Phone: 563.589.3828
Email: speterson@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 116 Babka Aviation Learning Center
Fax: 563.589.3179

Michael Phillips
Michael Phillips
Director of Aviation Student Engagement

BA, MA; Loras College



Office Phone: 563.589.3732
Email: MPhillips@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Babka Aviation Learning Center

Chaminda Prelis
Chaminda Prelis
Director of Aviation Programs

MS, Aviation
BBA, Aviation Management



Office Phone: 563.589.3835
Email: CPrelis@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 118 Babka Aviation Learning Center
Fax: 563.589.3177

Jorge Rangel
Jorge Rangel
Aviation Dispatch and Operations Assistant


Email: JRangel@dbq.edu 

Matt Reuter
Matt Reuter
Flight Instructor


Email: MReuter@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Babka Aviation Learning Center

Jonathan Salaun
Jonathan Salaun
Flight Instructor


Email: JSalaun@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Babka Aviation Learning Center

Grant Sanders
Grant Sanders
Flight Instructor - Fixed-Wing


Email: GSanders@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Tad Schoeny
Tad Schoeny
CRJ Sim Instructor


Email: TSchoeny@dbq.edu 

Ching-Kuan Su
Ching-Kuan Su
Stage Check Instructor


Office Phone: 563.589.3807
Email: csu@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Randy Tolley
Randy Tolley
CRJ 200 Instructor


Email: RTolley@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Tim Voss
Tim Voss
Aviation Shuttle Driver



Randy Warm
Randy Warm
Director of Aviation Operations and Safety

MS, United States Army
BA, University of Northern Iowa



Office Phone: 563.589.3514
Email: RWarm@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Babka Aviation Learning Center

Neil Weston
Neil Weston
CRJ Sim Instructor


Email: NWeston@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Roger Wickman
Roger Wickman
Flight Instructor


Office Phone: 563.589.3829
Email: rwickman@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Brett Wimberly
Brett Wimberly
CRJ Simulator Instructor / Fixed-Wing Check Instructor


Office Phone: 563.589.3833
Email: BWimberly@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Gregory Mark Woodhouse
Gregory Mark Woodhouse
Assistant Professor

MSCTE, Nova Southeastern University
BSEE, New Jersey Institute of Technology



Office Phone: 563.589.3233
Email: GWoodhouse@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 226 Dunlap Technology Center
Fax: 563.589.563.589.3410
Biography - Click Here

Mark is a Bible teacher and conference speaker with 20+ years of higher education teaching experience. Commercial Pilot, Multi-engine, Instrument, Advanced Ground Instructor Ratings;  Chief Firearms Instructor, Proficient Defense Training;  Chaplain with Dubuque Police Department and Sheriff's Office; Advisor, UD Computer Club;  Advisor, UD RC Pilots Club


Edwin Zenke
Edwin Zenke
Certified Flight Instructor


Email: EZenke@dbq.edu 
Office Location: Flight Operations Center

Careers in Aviation Management

Aviation is a profession filled with limitless personal and professional reward; where the sky is not the limit when it comes to the type of careers students can pursue in the industry. The University of Dubuque’s aviation management graduates can choose from a vast array of areas when they begin their careers. UD’s aviation management students have gone on to work in the area of operations, finance, IT and a number of other opportunities at airports, airlines, air traffic control facilities, and fixed based operations (FBOs). 

Bachelor of Science Opportunities

An aviation student with a bachelor of science in aviation management is prepared to enter almost any position within flight management and flight operations within the aviation industry. The aviation department provides students with the professional skills that allow for success in all segments of the aviation industry while enhancing their critical thinking and decision making skills. Accordingly, an aviation student is well-qualified and comes with the experiences to enter most entry level positions within the aviation industry. 

Post-graduate Opportunities

The Aviation Program provides the educational and experiential base not only for entry-level management but also as a foundation to build a career through graduate level study in the aviation industry. The University of Dubuque Aviation Department encourages all of our graduates to strive for higher levels of experience and education, to advance the students capacity to enhance the quality of their education and experience in serving the aviation industry. Most of our graduates have gone on to complete advanced level training in flight operations, and for some this has included pursuing post-graduate degrees. 

Successful Outcomes

Michele Phalen BS, 2014 Aviation Management

I can't imagine where I would be without my education from the University of Dubuque. Four years of hard work really paid off when I accepted a summer internship with Delta Air Lines in their Flight Operations Department.  It was a dream come true to be able to work for a major airline, and without the University of Dubuque I would never have thought it was possible. I maintained a high GPA throughout college because of the hard work I put into my classes, but I also know that my success had a lot to do with my professors.  Professors who care and who are always there to lend a helping hand are what helped me to get to this point in my career - I thank them for my success.  Not only did I have the opportunity to work for Delta, but I was the first student from the University of Dubuque to gain that internship. I hope that Delta recognizes the quality students the University of Dubuque provides, and in the future more students will have the same amazing opportunity I had.