Academic Success Center Staff


John Downing
John Downing
Adjunct Faculty

PhD, Capella University - in progress
MA, Eastern Kentucky University



Email: jdowning@dbq.edu 
Biography - Click Here

Downing worked at the University of Dubuque in the Department of Student Life from 1990-1992.  He was the coordinator of special programs and the hall director for Casset and Donnell Residence Halls.

Downing teaches in the Bridge Program and also teaches World View here at the University.  He is currently pursuing his PhD in postsecondary and adult education. Downing's dissertation study will focus on first-year college students who have successfully developed academic skills to persist in their educational journey through their participation in the Bridge Program.

Downing is currently in his 14th year of employment with UnityPoint Health Finley Hospital, where he has held both hourly and managerial roles.


Kathleen Gansemer
Kathleen Gansemer
Director of Learning Support Services

EdD, University of Northern Iowa
MAE, Upper Iowa University
BS, Cleveland State University (OH)



Office Phone: 563.589.3218
Email: kgansemer@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 206 Charles C. Myers Library
Fax: 563.589.3410

Hala Hilal
Hala Hilal
Instructor / Learning Support Coach
Professional Tutor / Saudi Arabian Students Counselor

Master Degree in Financial Markets, The Arab Academy for Banking and Financial Sciences
BS, Aleppo University; Marketing



Office Phone: 563.589.3511
Email: HHilal@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 206 Charles C. Myers Library

Melissa Huekels
Melissa Huekels
TRIO Student Support Services Program Director

MAE, University of Northern Iowa
BA, Loras College



Office Phone: 563.589.3422
Email: mhuekels@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 214 Charles C. Myers Library
Fax: 563.589.3722

Katie Hurt
Katie Hurt
Test Proctor/Staff Assistant


Office Phone: 563.589.3262
Email: KHurt@dbq.edu 
Office Location: ASC, Charles C. Myers Library
Fax: 563.589.563.589.3722

Joel Janecek
Joel Janecek
Adjunct Instructor, Personal Empowerment

MS

Email: Jjanecek@dbq.edu 

Liza Johnson
Liza Johnson
Assistant Director to the President for Diamond

MAOM, Ashford University
MA, St. Xavier University
BA, Loras College

Office Phone: 563.589.3332
Email: ldjohnson@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 309 Van Vliet Hall
Fax: 563.589.3419

Antonio Mouzon
Antonio Mouzon
Instructor of Personal Empowerment

MAC



Office Phone: 563.589.3317
Email: AMouzon@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 322 Severance Hall

Matt Muilenburg
Matt Muilenburg
Assistant Professor of Writing
Director of ENG 090 Program

MFA, Wichita State University
BA, Western Illinois University

Office Phone: 563.589.3798
Email: mmuilenburg@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 303 Van Vliet

Danielle Phillips
Danielle Phillips
Test Proctor / Staff Assistant


Office Phone: 563.589.3262
Email: DPhillips@dbq.edu 
Office Location: ASC Charles C. Myers Library

Zander Saleh
Zander Saleh
Learning Support Coach


Office Phone: 563.589.3518
Email: ASaleh@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 215 Charles C. Myers Library

Grace A. Sparks
Grace A. Sparks
Assistant Director TRIO Student Support Services - Advisor


Office Phone: 563.589.3731
Email: GSparks@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 209 Charles C. Myers Library

Debra Stork
Debra Stork
Associate Dean for Teaching and Learning

PhD, University of Wyoming
MA, University of Northern Iowa
BA, University of Northern Iowa



Office Phone: 563.589.3523
Email: DStork@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 220 Charles C. Myers Library

Carly Stork
Carly Stork
Assistant Director of Learning Support Services


Office Phone: 563.589.3399
Email: CStork@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 216 Charles C. Myers Library
Fax: 563.589.3722

Kait Tysver
Kait Tysver
TRIO Student Engagement Coordinator

MAE, Murray State University
BS, Murray State University



Office Phone: 563.589.3758
Email: KTysver@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 208 Charles C. Myers Library