Women's Soccer Gets Six on All-Conference Teams

Nov 6, 2018

Carissa BrownLexus RoseLauren Cangelosi

Olivia SullivanAlexa MartinVictoria Roethler

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa – The Amercian Rivers Conference released the 2018 Women’s Soccer All-Conference Team on Tuesday afternoon with UD’s Carissa Brown, Lauren Cangelosi, Alexa Martin, Lexus Rose, Victoria Roethler and Olivia Sullivan all earning all-conference honors. All six Spartans that received all-conference honors in 2018, did so in 2017 as well.

Carissa Brown (Oswego, Ill./Oswego) , the 2017 conference defensive player of the year, gained all-conference honors for the second time in as many years at UD.  Brown has been an integral part of the Spartan back line, limiting opponents to just 20 goals over 19 games in 2018. She also helped limit the opponent to just 9.4 shots per game while the UD offense took 15.5 a game. Brown recorded one goal on six shots in 2018.

Seniors Lexus Rose (Plainfield, Ill./Plainfield South) and Lauren Cangelosi (Clarendon Hills, Ill./Hinsdale Central) capped their careers in stellar fashion, being a dynamic duo for the Spartan attack as the two combined for 50 of UD’s 104 points in 2018.  Rose led the team in points and was fifth in the A-R-C with 26 total points and was also third in the conference with a team-high 11 goals. Cangelosi’s points were split evenly amongst points and assists as she had eight of each. Her team best eight assists were the second most in the American Rivers Conference, just two behind the leader and her eight goals put her right behind Rose at eighth in the conference. The two combined for 11 game-winning goals with Rose leading the conference with seven and Cangelosi tied for third at four. Rose’s seven game winners ties the UD single season record for game-winners in a season.

Olivia Sullivan (Richland, Mich./Gull Lake) joined her fellow seniors on the all-conference for the second straight year. Sullivan was a do-it-all defender for the Spartans as she started 15 of the 16 games she played in during her senior campaign, recording two goals on 11 shots for four points. Among all regulars, Sullivan had the best shot on goal percentage of any Spartans this season with a percentage of .636.

After being named honorable mention her freshman season in 2016, Alexa Martin has now earned all-conference honors in back-to-back years in 2017 and 2018. The defender and midfielder from Cedar Rapids, Iowa and Prairie High School played and started in all 19 of UD’s games. Martin scored two goals and dished out five assists during her junior season, while having a shot on goal percentage of .613.

The sophomore goalkeeper, Victoria Roethler (Cedar Rapids, Iowa/Jefferson), grabbed honorable mention honors, a year after being named all-conference her freshman season. Roethler started all but one game for the Spartans in 2018 and played 1609:02 minutes in net. She was atop nearly every goalie category in the A-R-C, finished second in goals against average (0.95), third in save percentage (.809), fourth in total saves (72), eighth in saves per game (3.79) and third in shutouts (4.2). Her goals allowed average of .95 is sixth best in a single season in program history.

Offensive MVP - Gretchen Schutz - Loras College
Defensive MVP - Zoey Campbell - Wartburg College
Coaching Staff of the Year - Matt Pucci - Loras College

Olivia Denham - Central College
Erin Manion - Central College
Sydney Schroder - Coe College
Kiki Cabrera - Loras College
Brynn Jacobi - Loras College
Elizabeth Mills - Loras College
Gretchen Schutz - Loras College
Jenny Wick - Loras College
Kennedy Bergren (GK) - Luther College
Hanna Christopher - Luther College
Marta Springer - Luther College
Sommer Stevens - Luther College
Kaitlyn Sullivan - Nebraska Wesleyan University
Carissa Brown - University of Dubuque
Lauren Cangelosi - University of Dubuque
Alexa Martin - University of Dubuque
Lexus Rose - University of Dubuque
Olivia Sullivan - University of Dubuque
Nicole Adair - Wartburg College
Zoey Campbell - Wartburg College
Alyssa Drewelow - Wartburg College
Marissa Lopez (GK) - Wartburg College

Honorable Mention
Ashlyn Moos - Coe College
Allison Stubbs - Coe College
Karlye Waterman - Coe College
Jesse Buttolph - Luther College
Laurel Heskett - Nebraska Wesleyan University
Dani Marquez - Simpson College
Victoria Roethler (GK) - University of Dubuque
Emily Fontana - Wartburg College
Hailey Osburn - Wartburg College