University of Dubuque Announces Athletic Hall of Fame Honorees

Sep 20, 2018 | University Relations staff

DUBUQUE, Iowa – Five accomplished former University of Dubuque student-athletes and three teams will be enshrined in the UD Athletic Hall of Fame during a private awards ceremony on Saturday, Sept. 22. The honorees will be recognized during halftime of the football game against Central College.

The honorees are Evan Brown (C’10, MBA’12), of Ames, Iowa, from wrestling; Thomas Hurst (C’86), of Ninnekah, Oklahoma, from basketball and baseball; Jodi (Thomas) Kinney (C’06), of Durand, Illinois, from volleyball; Bryan Kuehn (C’02), of Egg Harbor, Wisconsin, from football, basketball, and track; and Michael Zweifel (C’11), of Dubuque, from football. The 1959-60 Wrestling Team, 2005 4x100 Relay Team, and 2007 4x100 Relay Team will also be honored.

Since 1989, the UD Athletic Hall of Fame has honored former student-athletes, coaches, and supporters who have contributed to the success of UD.

Evan Brown (C’10, MBA’12)
Brown earned a bachelor of business administration in 2010 and master of business administration in 2012 from the University of Dubuque. While at UD, he was part of the wrestling team from 2006 to 2010. After graduation, Brown moved to Ames, Iowa, to train at Iowa State. From 2012 to 2014, he competed in numerous international tournaments, trained and competed with Team USA in Cuba and Belarus, and qualified for the 2013 World Team Trials. Brown resides in Ames.

Brown’s most notable athletic accomplishments include being a two-time NCAA Division III National Finalist and 2009 Division III National Champion. He was named the University of Dubuque 2010 Male Athlete of the Year and holds the record for most career wins (124).

Thomas Hurst (C’86)
Hurst graduated from the University of Dubuque in 1986 with a degree in political science. During his college career, Hurst played basketball and was the team captain for three years. He was also involved in baseball from 1984 to 1986 as well as golf. Hurst and his family live in Ninnekah, Oklahoma.

Hurst set pitching records with 73 innings pitched and 61 strikeouts as well as a record-breaking 156 at bats. During his senior year, the 1986 baseball team established 15 new school records.

Jodi (Thomas) Kinney (C’06)
Kinney graduated from the University of Dubuque in 2006 with a bachelor of science in elementary education. During her time at UD, she played volleyball from 2002 to 2005. Kinney and her family live in Durand, Illinois.

Kinney earned First Team Academic All-District VII honors and was the lone Iowa Conference selection to the First Team in 2005. She also was named the 2006 Women’s Presidential Academic Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Bryan Kuehn (C’02)
Kuehn graduated from the University of Dubuque in 2002 with a bachelor of business administration. While at UD, he was part of the football, basketball, and track teams. Kuehn and his family reside in Egg Harbor, Wisconsin.

Kuehn earned All Iowa Conference honors five times including back-to-back outdoor long jump titles in 2001 and 2002. His most notable athletic accomplishment was being UD’s first male track athlete to win the IIAC conference championship in all three jumps – long, triple, and high. He also earned NCAA All-American honors three times with a second place finish in the outdoor long jump (2001) and third place finishes in the outdoor long jump (2002) and indoor long jump (2002).

Michael Zweifel (C’11)
Zweifel earned a bachelor of science in health, wellness, and recreation from the University of Dubuque in 2011. During his college career, Zweifel played football from 2009 to 2011. Zweifel and his wife live in Dubuque.

Zweifel’s most notable athletic accomplishments include winning the Gagliardi Award (Division III Heisman Award), being the 2011 Iowa Conference Player of the Year, and the NCAA All-Time leading in receptions. Zweifel and his Spartan teammates were the 2011 Iowa Conference Champions. In 2011, he set a single season Division III record with 140 catches. His 140 catches and 25 touchdowns in 2011 led all NCAA Divisions (I, II, and III). Zweifel holds four single season school records and two career records.

1959-60 Wrestling Team
The 1959-60 Wrestling Team finished the season with a perfect 11-0 record in dual matches. Ronald Moon (123 pounds) and James Fox (147 and 157 pounds) went undefeated in dual meets, Moon 11-0 and Fox 10-0. The team also won the Knox College Invitational.

1959-60 Wrestling Team: Philip Almes (C’63), Jan Bergert (C’62), John Brown, Earl LeRoy Bufton, Jr. (C’63) posthumously, Donald Carten (C’60) posthumously, Leland Chalmers (C’63) posthumously, James Fox (C’62), James Harris (C’62), Melvin Hufendick (C’63), Eugene Leffingwell (C’63, MDiv’66) posthumously, Samuel Limperis (C’63), Jon Mehus (C’62) posthumously, Ronald Moon (C’62), Raymond Rampson (C’63), Bruce Sayers (C’61) posthumously, Charles Snook (C’61) posthumously, Dennis Weise (C’61), Robert White (C’63) posthumously, and Digby Willard (C’63).

2005 4x100 Relay Team
The 2005 4x100 Relay Team earned All-American honors with a fifth place finish at the 2005 NCAA Outdoor Championships. They also won the IIAC 4x100 meter relay title with a time of 41.55 seconds and qualified for the Drake Relays. The 2005 4x100 Relay Team currently ranks second in school history with a season best of 41.02.

2005 4x100 Relay Team: Eddie Blackmon (C’11), Daunta Peterson (C’06), Darrell Walker (C’07), and Gregg Wiersema (C’06).

2007 4x100 Relay Team
The 2007 4x100 Relay Team earned All-American honors with a fourth place finish at the 2007 NCAA Outdoor Championships. They placed second at the IIAC Championships with a time of 41.83 seconds and qualified for the Drake Relays placing seventh in the finals with a time of 41.44 seconds. The 2007 4x100 Relay Team set a school record with a time of 40.77 seconds.

2007 4x100 Relay Team: Eddie Blackmon (C’11), Jeanriles Metezier (C’10), Darrell Walker (C’07), and Orlando Walton (C’08).