Volleyball Earns AVCA Team Academic Award for 2015-2016

Jul 28, 2016

LEXINGTON, Ky. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced today that 764 teams have earned the AVCA Team Academic Award for the 2015-2016 season. This number breaks the previous year's total of 757 to set an all-time high. The University of Dubuque was one of 140 recipients to earn the award in NCAA Division III. The Spartans clinched their fifth-straight Iowa Conference tournament berth in 2015 and look to extend that streak in 2016. UD will open their 2016 season at the Lake Forest Forester Volleyball Open on Sept. 2, in Lake Forset, Ill.

The award, which was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year, honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative team GPA on a 5.0 scale.

"Congratulations to the coaches and institutions that won the 2016 AVCA Team Academic Award,” said AVCA Executive Director Kathy DeBoer. "It is no accident that a volleyball coaches association recognizes academic excellence as a team, rather than an individual, achievement. Players influence each other, both in execution on the court and discipline in the classroom.”

The AVCA Team Academic Award is the single largest award offered by quantity of schools, players and coaches honored. Since the 2000-2001 season, the number of recipients have increased every single year but two, while amassing a 477 team increase over the span of the last decade. Since the award's inception in 1993, the amount of award winners has increased from 62 to its current number of 764.

Girls high school led the way with the number of recipients of 260, an increase of 22 over last year. NCAA Division I honored 132 programs, while NCAA Division II reached a new record with a total of 119 honorees. NCAA Division III had the second-most honorees this year with a total of 140 schools, matching last year’s record number.

Prior to 2015-2016, only 26 teams had attained the pinnacle of volleyball success in both earning the AVCA Team Academic Award and winning their respective collegiate national championship in the same academic year. This year, the AVCA is proud to recognize three programs that excelled in the classroom and on the court: Wheeling Jesuit University (NCAA Division II), California Lutheran University (NCAA Division III) and Columbia College (NAIA).

Over 1,000 different schools have earned the award in the program's 24-year history, with exactly 7,642 awards been given out in total.


Division                               Number of recipients 
NCAA Division I Women                     132
NCAA Division II Women                    119 
NCAA Division III Women                   140 
NAIA Women                                     54 
Two-Year College                                16 
NCCAA                                              3 
Collegiate Men                                   11 
High School Girls                               260 (1 sand) 
High School Boys                               23 
College Beach                                    6

You can find 2015-16's list of recipients by clicking here.


2015-2016: 764
2014-2015: 757 

2013-2014: 687
2012-2013: 623
2011-12: 536
2010-11: 481
2009-10: 450
2008-09: 409
2007-08: 354
2006-07: 308
2005-06: 287
2004-05: 276
2003-04: 305 
2002-03: 205 
2001-02: 178 
2000-01: 130 
1999-00: 140 
1998-99: 149 
1997-98: 132 
1996-97: 134 
1995-96: 116 
1994-95: 83 
1993-94: 98 
1992-93: 62