UW-Oshkosh To Host Kollege Town Sports Cross Country Invitational

Oct 13, 2016

2016 UW-Oshkosh Kollege Town Sports Cross Country Invitational Website

OSH KOSH, Wis. - More than 1,200 runners will compete as UW-Oshkosh hosts the Kollege Town Sports Cross Country Invitational – one of the premiere NCAA Division III meets in the country – this Saturday (Oct. 15) at the Lake Breeze Golf Club in Winneconne.

The event begins at 10:30 a.m. with the women’s 6,000-meter race. The men’s 8,000-meter race will follow at 11:20 a.m.

Admission to the meet, which features teams from 10 states, is $10 per vehicle. No other spectator parking or shuttle service is available.

This year’s women’s division is comprised of 41 teams, including eight that are ranked in the NCAA Division III top 35 by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association. Nine of the 42 men’s teams are also ranked in the Division III top 35.

Second-ranked North Central College (Ill.) and fourth-ranked UW-Eau Claire headline the men’s field while the women’s category will feature fifth-ranked Washington University in St. Louis (Mo.) and eighth-ranked Calvin College (Mich.).

The other nationally ranked Division III men’s teams at the Kollege Town Sports Invitational are No. 15 Washington University in St. Louis, No. 17 Calvin College, No. 24 Wartburg College (Iowa), No. 26 Augustana College (Ill.), No. 28 Ohio Northern University, No. 31 University of Chicago (Ill.) and No. 35 Willamette University (Ore.).

Completing the ranked Division III women’s teams are No. 16 Hope College (Mich.), No. 17 UW-Oshkosh, No. 20 University of Chicago, No. 26 University of St. Thomas (Minn.), No. 30 UW-Eau Claire and No. 35 Willamette University.

At last year’s Kollege Town Sports Invitational (formerly called the AAE Invitational), UW-Eau Claire won the 45-team men’s race with 99 points while Washington University in St. Louis claimed the 46-team women’s race with 136. UW-Eau Claire went on to win its first men’s national championship last season, and Washington University in St. Louis placed fifth at the national meet, which was also held at the Lake Breeze Golf Club.

Rounding out the top five men’s teams at last season’s Kollege Town Sports Invitational were runner-up North Central College with 131 points, third-place St. Lawrence University (N.Y.) with 174, fourth-place UW-Stevens Point with 212 and fifth-place Wabash College (Ind.) with 221.

Completing the 2015 Kollege Town Sports Invitational top five women’s teams were runner-up Willamette University with 165 points, third-place University of Chicago with 201, fourth-place Hope College with 259 and fifth-place Emory University (Ga.) with 265.

UW-Eau Claire had three of the top four men’s finishers a year ago. The Blugolds’ Josh Thorson earned last year’s Kollege Town Sports Invitational title with a time of 24:18 while UW-Platteville’s Ian LaMere placed second in 24:25.

Megan Kellogg won the women’s race of the 2015 Kollege Town Sports Invitational with a time of 21:12 while UW-Eau Claire’s Lucy Ramquist finished second in 21:17.

Last season’s meet also saw the UW-Oshkosh men finish eighth and the Titan women 10th. Charlend Howard returns for the UW-Oshkosh men after placing 23rd in 2015 with a time of 25:06. Erica Munyan is back for the Titan women after finishing 54th last year with a time of 22:35.

The Lake Breeze Golf Club will also host the UW-Oshkosh Open on Oct. 21 and the NCAA Division III Midwest Regional on Nov. 12.

Competing Collegiate Teams

Albion College (Mich.)
Augustana College (Ill.)
Aurora University (Ill.)
Calvin College (Mich.)
Carroll University (Wis.)
Carthage College (Wis.) (Men Only)
College of Lake County (Ill.)
Concordia University Chicago (Ill.)
Concordia University Wisconsin
Dominican University (Ill.)
Elmhurst College (Ill.)
Finlandia University (Mich.)
Gogebic Community College (Mich.)
Hope College (Mich.)
Illinois Institute of Technology
Illinois Wesleyan University
Lake Forest College (Ill.)
Lawrence University (Wis.)
Milwaukee School of Engineering (Wis.)
Moody Bible Institute (Ill.) (Women Only)
North Central College (Ill.)
Northwestern College (Minn.) (Men Only)
Occidental College (Calif.)
Ohio Northern University
Olivet Nazarene University (Ill.)
Principia College (Ill.) (Men Only)
St. Norbert College (Wis.)
The College of St. Scholastica (Minn.)
Trinity University (Texas)
University of Chicago (Ill.)
University of Dubuque (Iowa)
University of St. Thomas (Minn.) (Women Only)
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
University of Wisconsin-Parkside
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
University of Wisconsin-Stout
University of Wisconsin-Superior
University of Wisconsin-Waukesha
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Wartburg College (Iowa)
Washington University of St Louis (Mo.)
Wheaton College (Ill.)
Willamette University (Ore.)