UD Claims Nine All-IIAC Honors, Men Lead Team Race After Day One

Feb 24, 2017

Full Day 1 Results Here

DUBUQUE, Iowa- On the first day of the Iowa Conference Championships, the University of Dubuque earned All-Conference honors in nine different events. The UD men's team is also in first place in the team standings with 51 team points, leading Nebraska Wesleyan by nine points.

Senior, Blaze Murfin, claimed his second his second straight IIAC Indoor Title with huge toss of 16.78m/55-00.75. Tanasha Atwater also won the shot put on the women's side, with an Iowa Conference Indoor Championship Meet record of 14.67m/48-01.75, giving her back to back IIAC Indoor titles in the shot put. ‌

Action resumes on Saturday morning with the men's heptathlon at 9:00 a.m. at the Chlapaty Recreation and Wellness Center at the University of Dubuque. 

Shot- Blaze Murfin (First) 16.78m/55-00.75
        - Ron Brown (Third) 15.45m/50-08.25
Pole Vault- Nick Kazmieczak (Second) 4.31m/14’1.75”
5000m run- Alec Bass (First) 14:44.41
4x200-Isaiah Ellis, Colfay Pointer, Ryan Kind, Tyler Fowler (Second) 1:30.12    
55m Hurdles- Clayton Gray advances to finals with time of 8.78
55m- Isaiah Ellis advances to finals with time of 6.65

Shot- Tanasha Atwater (First) 14.67m/48-01.75 (Meet Record)
Long Jump- Alyssa Skrove (Third) 5.23m/17-02
Pole Vault- Amanda Zbliski (Second) 3.26m/10-6.9
Distance Medley- (Second) Wenthold, Beeman, Romagna, and Ortiz. 12:18.98  (School Record)
55m Hurdle- MichelleAnn Sanchez advances to finals with time of 8.94

Women - Team Rankings - 7 Events Scored
1) Nebraska Wesleyan           68        
2) Wartburg                          52  
3) Loras                                51        
4) Dubuque                          37  
5) Central College                 27        
6) Luther                             17  
7) Simpson (Iowa)                 8        
8) Buena Vista                       7  
9) Coe                                   5                                          

Men - Team Rankings - 6 Events Scored
1) Dubuque                      51        
2) Nebraska Wesleyan       42  
3) Loras                            34        
4) Wartburg                      31  
5) Central College              27        
6) Simpson (Iowa)             20  
7) Coe                              14        
8) Buena Vista                  11  
9) Luther                           4