Spartans #2 Seed In Iowa Conference Tournament

May 9, 2017

DUBUQUE, Iowa – The University of Dubuque baseball teams heads into the 2017 Iowa Conference Tournament as the number two seed with a 23-15 record overall and 17-7 in the Iowa Conference. The 23 wins overall and 17 conference wins are both school records.

Spartan pitcher brings the top ERA in the conference into the tournament with a 0.00 ERA over 34.2 innings and striking out 40 batters in the process. As a team, UD is the third best pitching staff in the Iowa Conference with a team ERA of 4.05. However, in Iowa Conference play only, UD has a team ERA of 2.57, the best in the conference.

On the offensive side, UD’s Austin McWhite and Thomas Kempf are tied for seventh in the Iowa Conference with 51 hits this season. Kempf leads the Spartans with a .383 batting average with McWhite second on the team with a solid .349 average. Will Doherty’s patience at the plate has led him to 28 walks in the 2017 campaign, tied for first in the IIAC.

The tournament is held at Perfect Game Field at Veterans Memorial Stadium in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Live video can be found HERE

Single-day tickets are $6.00 for adults and $3.00 for students with a college ID or younger. Iowa Conference faculty and staff may present their IDs for free admission as well. An “All-Sessions” pass will be available as well at a price of $16.00 for adults and $8.00 for students

Thursday, May, 11
Game 1 1:00p  Buena Vista (#3) vs Central (#6) 
Game 2 1:00p  Luther (#4) vs Coe (#5) at Daniels Park - Coe College
Game 3 4:00p  Dubuque (#2) v. BV/Central Winner - Veterans Memorial Stadium
Game 4 7:00p  Wartburg (#1) v. Luther/Coe Winner - Veterans Memorial Stadium

Friday, May 12
Game 5 10:00a Game 1 Loser vs. Game 2 Loser
Game 6 1:00p Game 3 Winner vs. Game 4 Winner
Game 7 4:00p Game 5 Winner vs. Lower Seeded Loser of Games 3 & 4
Game 8 7:00p Game 7 Winner vs. Higher Seeded Loser of Games 3 & 4
(Exception: If one of the Game 3 or 4 Losers already has had a bye, that team will play in Game 7,regardless of seed.)

Saturday, May 13
Game 9 10:00a Game 8 Winner vs. Game 6 Loser
Game 10 1:00p Game 6 Winner vs. Game 9 Winner
Game 11 4:00p Game 6 Winner vs. Game 9 Winner (if necessary)