Twelve Spartans Named to IIAC Winter All-Academic Team

Mar 22, 2016

Official IIAC release
DUBUQUE, Iowa - The University of Dubuque men's basketball, women's basketball, and wrestling teams saw a combined 12 student-athletes achieve at least a 3.5 GPA en route to an Iowa Conference winter All-Academic selection.

Along with their GPA requirement, a student-athlete must compete at the varsity level and be a sophomore in academic standing. The Spartans finished with the fifth-most honorees in the league with women's basketball contributing six, wrestling adding four, and men's basketball honoring two.

When including the three sports every Iowa Conference school supports (M/W basketball and wrestling), the Spartans placed second overall. The Spartans led the conference with four wrestlers being named All-Academic.

Complete Spartan List
Women's Basketball
Jessica Kirkwood (Sr.) - Human Health Science
Emily Brinker (Jr.) - Human Health Science
Allie Biermeier (So.) - Pre-Professional Health
Kara Enos (So.) - Pre-Nursing
Hannah Jensen (So.) - Physical Education
Abbey Meyer (So.) - Elementary Education
James Cunningham (So.) - Criminal Justice
Ethan Kleitsch (So.) - Sport Marketing & Management
Mitchell Kwilinski (So.) - Pre-Nursing
Max Obois (So.) - Flight Operations
Men's Basketball
Tanner Hinck (Jr.) - Sport Marketing & Management
Jacob Mohlis (Jr.) - Sport Marketing & Management