All-American Awards Pour in for Norris

Mar 21, 2016

Norris has been named All-American by (4th team), the NABC (2nd team), and Small College Hoops (3rd team).

DUBUQUE, Iowa – Senior forward and back-to-back Iowa Conference MVP Andre Norris was named an All-American by, National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), Small College Hoops, and Hero Sports.

The Plainfield, Ill. native has been honored as a first, second, third, and fourth team All-American by the aforementioned media outlets.

Norris finished as an Iowa Conference champion and UD’s all-time leading scorer en route to flurry of national awards. The 6-7 senior averaged 23.1 points per game and 12.1 rebounds, along with leading the NCAA Division III with 11.12 defensive rebounds per game, as the Spartans posted an 18-8, 11-3 Iowa Conference record.

Norris set the UD all-time scoring record of 1936 points after matching a career-high 37 points with 13 rebounds in final career game in IIAC semifinals.

A four-time National Team of the Week award winner and the 2016 West Region Player of the Year, Norris received Fourth Team honors for his first All-American selection. The Plainfield, Ill. native was the lone Iowa Conference selection and was one of 20 players honored across their four All-American teams.

After being named one of 18 seniors to participate in the Division III NABC Reese’s All-Star game, Norris was selected to the NABC Coaches’ Division III All-America Second Team. He was one of 24 players selected among their three teams.

Norris started and finished with 18 points on 7 of 10 shooting, including 4 of 5 from three, at the NABC All-Star game in Salem, Va. on Saturday, March 19.

Small College Hoops named Norris a Third Team All-American selection.

Hero tabbed Norris a First Team All-American as he was one of 15 players in the country honored. Norris has now been honored as a first, second, third, and fourth team All-American. 

Norris is also a Top-25 finalist for the Bevo Francis award, given to the best small college player based on season stats, individual achievements, awards, personal character, and team achievements. The finalist and winner will be revealed on April 1.