Athletic Administration

Dan Runkle

Dan Runkle

Director of Athletics
Office Phone: 563.589.3599
E-mail: drunkle@dbq.edu
Office Location: 311 Stoltz Sports Center
Biography - Click Here

Dan Runkle joined the University of Dubuque as Director of Athletics in August of 2002. During his tenure, every student-athlete has been impacted by the continued growth of the athletic programs and facilities. Every athletic facility has seen updates and state of the art improvements to offer student-athletes the ability to be competitive on a national level. A new football stadium, indoor turf practice facility, 200 meter indoor track and field, tennis courts, artificial turf and lighted soccer and lacrosse fields, updated dugouts and fields at baseball and softball, and in the summer of 2015 an addition to the Stoltz Sports Center which will add over 300 additional seats for basketball, wrestling, and volleyball fans. 

Under Runkle’s direction the Spartans have claimed Iowa Conference Championships in Men’s Soccer (2010), Football (2011), Men’s Golf (2014), Women’s Soccer (2014), Women’s Basketball (2015) and Iowa Conference Tournament Championships in Women’s Soccer (2009, 2014) and in Men’s Basketball (2012, 2015).

Runkle came to the University of Dubuque after 21 years (1981-2001) as head football coach and assistant professor at Division II Minnesota State University, Mankato. Runkle is a member of the Athletic Hall of Fame at Illinois College, Minnesota State University, Mankato and the North Central Conference (NCC). 

While at MSU-Mankato Runkle won two North Central Conference championships (1987,1993), made three NCAA Division II playoff appearances (1987,1991,1993), and was named North Central Conference Coach of the Year (1987). His 108 career wins are the most by any MSU-Mankato Football coach and the 14 highest total in Division II history. In addition, Runkle was named Football Gazette Division II National Coach of the Year in 1991. During his tenure 44 players were named First Team All-NCC with 30 All-Americans and two Harlon Hill finalists. In the classroom, Runkle worked heavily with his student-athletes to help them achieve a team GPA of 3.0 and a graduation rate of 93 percent. 

A 1968 graduate of Illinois College in Jacksonville, Ill. Runkle would earn a combined 10 athletic letters in baseball, basketball, and football en route to being named to IC’s Hall of Fame in 1993. Following graduation, Runkle earned his masters in education with an emphasis in Sports Administration from Western Illinois University. Runkle has also made stops at several Division I institutions including: University of Utah, University of South Dakota, Northern Arizona University, and University of Minnesota. 

Runkle and his wife Debra, who is the Medical Coordinator at UD, reside in Dubuque. Dan has two children, Tad and Sara, and two grandkids.


Debra R. Runkle

Debra R. Runkle

Associate Athletic Director; University Medical Coordinator; Head Athletic Trainer
Office Phone: 563.589.3244
E-mail: drrunkle@dbq.edu
Office Location: 305 Stoltz Sports Center
Biography - Click Here

Head Athletic Trainer, Medical Coordinator, Athletic Facilities Director, Assistant Athletic Director/SWA

BS, South Dakota State University, Brookings, SD 1979
Major: Physical Education Minor: Athletic Training & Coaching 

MA, Mankato State University, Mankato, MN 1984
Thesis: "The Effects of Full Hip-Flexion and 45-Degree Straight Leg Raising Exercises on Retropatellar Pain." 

Debra earned her bachelor of science in physical education from South Dakota State University (Brookings, SD), and her master of arts in physical education from Mankato State University (Mankato, MN) with an emphasis on sports medicine.

A certified athletic trainer since 1979, she has traveled internationally as a member of the United States Olympic Training Center (USOC). As a medical staff member for the USOC she has traveled with Team USA to the 2000 Olympics in Sidney, Australia, 1999 Pan American Games in Winnipeg, Canada, 1998 World Youth Games in Moscow, Russia, and the 1996 Paralympic Games in Atlanta, Georgia. Additionally, she served as athletic trainer with the USA Wheelchair Team and Cerebral Palsy Teams. In 1982 she received the National Athletic Trainers Association (NATA) Outstanding Research and Injury Award.

Previously, she was an Assistant Professor and Athletic Trainer at Minnesota State University, Mankato. She taught various classes with the Human Performance Department and in the nationally known accredited Athletic Training program for 17 years. Prior to MSU-M she was employed as instructor and athletic trainer at Chadron State College, and was a teacher, coach and athletic trainer in the Dell Rapids School District, in Dell Rapids, South Dakota for 3 years after graduating from SDSU.

Deb is a member of several professional organizations, including the National Athletic Trainers Association (NATA), Wheelchair Sports USA, College Athletic Trainers Society, National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA), and the American Alliance of Health, Physical Education and Recreation (AAHPER).She is co-author of the college textbook Athletic Protective Equipment Care, Selection and Fitting and has published articles on eating disorders and athletic training topics. In 2002 & 2003, she was a finalist for the National Athletic Trainers Association Gail Weldon Woman Athletic Trainer Award. She is presently a member of the NCAA Committee on Competitive Safeguards and Medical Aspects of Sports.


Jason Berna

Jason Berna

Assistant Athletic Director; Head Women's Soccer Coach
Office Phone: 563.589.3786
E-mail: jberna@dbq.edu
Office Location: 216 Mercer-Birmingham
Biography - Click Here

Jason Berna joined the University of Dubuque in 2001. He started the men's and women's soccer programs in 2001 and was both the Men's and Women's Head Soccer coach for eight season before stepping down as the Men's Coach in 2008 to focus on leading women's program. Coach Berna led the Spartans to their first-ever regular season IIAC title and second IIAC Tournament title in school history during the 2014 season. The Spartans fell in the 2014 NCAA First Round in their second trip to the NCAA Tournament in school history.

In 2015, the Spartans reached their fourth consecutive, double-digit win season for the first time in school history after finishing 10-7-2. A trio of seniors left as the winningest class in school history with 53 wins. With two selections in 2015, it marked the seventh straight season Coach Berna has coached two or more First Team All-IIAC selections.

Berna's 2014 squad tied the school record with six All-IIAC selections. Its senior class compiled the second most wins (52) in school history. Senior Lauren Waddell became the only woman in school history to be named All-IIAC (2nd team or better) three times and was honored as UD's Female Senior of the Year for her four-year career accomplishments.

Berna has led the women's team to 12 straight conference tournament appearances and 13 out of 15 in the program's history. He was named IIAC Women's Coach of the year in 2005, 2009, 2012, and 2013. He led the men's team to two straight playoff appearances and reached the IIAC Tournament Championship semi-finals in his final year as the men's head coach. 

As the Women's Coach, he has coached: 52 All-Iowa Conference athletes (26-First Team/ 26-Second Team), 8 All-Region performers, 2 Conference MVP and 73 Academic All-Conference student-athletes. He has always pushed his teams to not only do well on the field, but in the class room. The women's program has received team academic awards from the NSCAA in 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014 for having above a 3.0 team GPA.

Berna graduated from Loras College in 2001 and played four years, was a three-time All-Iowa Conference selection, and three-year captain. He also trained and played in 1999 with the Des Menace PDL team for one summer before tearing his ACL for the second time. He was an assistant coach with his alma mater for one season with the men's and women's soccer programs before joining UD. Berna also serves as the Dubuque Soccer Club administrator and as an Iowa Olympic Development State Staff coach for the past five years.

Berna holds the highest coaching license offered by the United States Soccer Fedration, an "A" License as well as his NSCAA Goal Keeping License. He is also a state license instructor teaching the USSF "D" course on campus so students can obtain their beginning coaching license while attending UD.

Berna received a master's degree in Physical Education and Athletic Administration and an undergraduate degree in sports science from Loras College in 2001 and 1999. He and his wife Nicole reside in Dubuque with their children.

 
Women's Soccer Coaching Record at the University of Dubuque 
 Year Overall  IIAC     
 2001 4-12-1 2-7-0  8th Place   
 2002 10-8-1 4-4-1  6th Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier 
 2003 8-10-0 3-5-0  4th Place   
 2004 10-9-1 3-4-1  5th Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier 
 2005 12-6-2 5-2-1  3rd Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier  
 2006 9-10-0 3-5-0  4th Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier  
 2007 13-5-2 4-3-1  4th Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier  
 2008 9-8-3 4-3-1  5th Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier  
 2009 15-6-1 6-2-0  2nd Place  *IIAC Tournament Champions; NCAA Tournament Qualifier 
 2010 11-8-2 6-2-0  3rd Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier  
 2011 9-8-1 4-3-1 5th Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier  
 2012 11-7-2 4-2-1  3rd Place  *IIAC Tournament Qualifier  
 2013 16-5-0 5-2-0 2nd Place *IIAC Tournament Qualifier
 2014 16-5-1 6-1 1st Place *IIAC Regular Season and Tournament Champions
2015 10-7-2 2-4-1 6th Place *IIAC Tournament Qualifier
  Total    163-114-19    61-49-8     Only Coach in UD Women's Soccer History

Dustin Bierman

Dustin Bierman

Assistant to the Athletic Director
Director of Golf // Assistant Men's Basketball Coach

Office Phone: 563.589.3230
E-mail: dbierman@dbq.edu
Office Location: 303 Stoltz Sports Center
Biography - Click Here

Dustin Bierman is entering his seventh season as the head assistant coach at the University of Dubuque. With Bierman on staff, the Spartans have combined for an 132-59 record over the past six seasons and have won 17 or more games in the last seven seasons, including 21+ wins in the last three.

Bierman helped the Spartans reach their school’s first-ever Iowa Conference (IIAC) Tournament Championship in 2012-2013 and won another in 2014-15. In 2014-15, Bierman and the Spartans set a new school record of 23 wins en route to their second NCAA Tournament appearance in the last three seasons after setting a then-school record 22 wins and a trip to the NCAA Division III Tournament in the 2012-13 season.

During his tenure with the Spartans, Bierman has excelled as the recruiting coordinator and has recruited 20 players who earned All-Iowa Conference honors in his six seasons. Last year alone, he coached the IIAC MVP Andre Norris, and IIAC Defensive Player of the Year Brandon Ferguson. He also assists the program in scouting of opponents, breaking down film, on the floor instructions, and is the Director of all University of Dubuque Basketball camps and tournaments.

Prior to coming to the University of Dubuque, Bierman was an assistant men’s basketball coach and head women’s golf coach at Ashford University from 2006-08. He helped the basketball program to their best finish in eight seasons with a 16-13 record. He also recruited and coach three all-conference players while with the basketball program. He also leaded the Women’s Golf Team to two top three finishes in the Midwest Conference in two seasons.

A native of Newton, Illinois, Bierman began his basketball career at Parkland College in Champaign, Illinois. He then transferred to the University of Dubuque where he completed his playing career in 2002. While at UD he was named men’s basketball team MVP following his junior season in 2001.

Bierman holds a Bachelor degree from the University of Dubuque, and completed his master’s degree in athletic administration from Loras College in 2007.

Bierman and his wife, Jackie, are the parents of two children Josie and Max. 


Paul Misner

Paul Misner

Director of Sports Information
Office Phone: 563.589.3168
E-mail: pmisner@dbq.edu
Office Location: 207 Charles & Romona Myers Center

Karla Weber

Karla Weber

Administrative Assistant;Finance Officer
Office Phone: 563.589.3227
E-mail: kweber@dbq.edu
Office Location: 310 Stoltz Sports Center


Staff Directory

  

Administration

      563.589.
xxxx
    Dan Runkle    Director of Athletics    DRunkle@dbq.edu    x3599
    Debra Runkle   Associate Athletic Director   DRRunkle@dbq.edu   x3244
    Jason Berna   Assistant Athletic Director   JBerna@dbq.edu   x3786
    Dustin Bierman   Assistant to the Athletic Director   DBierman@dbq.edu   x3230
    Kevin Cattani   Director of Sports Marketing   KCattani@dbq.edu   x3454
    Victor Popp   Director of Recreation/CRWC Supervisor   VPopp@dbq.edu   x3449
    Karla Weber   Administrative Asst./Finance Officer     KWeber@dbq.edu   x3227
   

 

 

Athletic Trainers

       
    Debra Runkle   Head Athletic Trainer/Medical Coordinator   DRRunkle@dbq.edu   x3244
    Sarah Accacian   Assistant Athletic Trainer   SAccacian@dbq.edu   x3119
    Erin Barsema   Assistant Athletic Trainer   EBarsema@dbq.edu   x3857
    Jeremy Clausen   Assistant Athletic Trainer   JClausen@dbq.edu   x3119
    Carissa Kilmer   Assistant Athletic Trainer   CKilmer@dbq.edu   x3119
    Brenna Sneed   Assistant Athletic Trainer   BSneed@dbq.edu   x3119
    Matyln Zimmerman   Assistant Athletic Trainer   MZimmerman@dbq.edu   x3119
    Sara Welch   Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer   SWelch@dbq.edu   x3119
   
   

Sports Information

       
    Paul Misner   Director of Sports Information    PMisner@dbq.edu    x3168 
    Travis Kvach   Assistant in Sports Information   TKvach@dbq.edu   x3168
   

 

 

Athletic Performance

       
    Michael Mandot   Coordinator of Athletic Performance   MMandot@dbq.edu   x3397
    Michael Zweifel   Strength and Conditioning Coach    MBZweifel@dbq.edu   x3397
    Mason Mathews   Graduate Asst. Strength and Conditioning   MMathews@dbq.edu   x3397
   
   

Baseball

       
    Paul Wyczawski   Head Baseball Coach    PWyczawski@dbq.edu    x3124 
    Lucas Kalb   Assistant Baseball Coach   LKalb@dbq.edu    x3646
    Kevin Soine   Graduate Assistant Baseball   KSoine@dbq.edu   x3240
   
   

Men's Basketball

       
    Robbie Sieverding   Head Men's Basketball Coach   RSieverd@dbq.edu   x3248
    Dustin Bierman   Assistant Men's Basketball Coach   DBierman@dbq.edu   x3230
    Jordan Townsend   Assistant Men's Basketball Coach   JTownsend@dbq.edu   x3553
    Gage Heffernan   Graduate Assistant Men's Basketball   GHeffernan@dbq.edu   x3566
   
   

Women's Basketball

       
    Mark Noll   Head Women's Basketball Coach   MNoll@dbq.edu   x3279
    Kelsey Steinhagen   Assistant Women's Basketball Coach   KSteinhagen@dbq.edu   x3415
    Alyssa Colla   Graduate Assistant Women's Basketball   AColla@dbq.edu   x3415
   
   

Cheer and Stunt

       
    Colleen Day   Head Cheer and Stunt Coach   CDay@dbq.edu   x3733
    TBA   Graduate Assistant Cheer and Stunt       x3733
   
   

Men's and Women's Cross Country

       
    Chad Gunnelson   Director of Cross Country   CGunnelson@dbq.edu   x3860
    Geoff Gundlach   Head Cross Country Coach   GGundlach@dbq.edu   x3714
    TBA   Graduate Assistant Cross Country        
   
   

Football

       
    Stan Zweifel   Head Football Coach   SZweifel@dbq.edu   x3173
    Mike Durnin   Assistant Head Football Coach   MDurnin@dbq.edu   x3225
    Drew Nystrom   Offensive Coordinator   DNystrom@dbq.edu   x3584
    Carl Coleman   Defensive Coordinator   CColeman@dbq.edu   x3727
    Miles Hookstead   Assistant Football Coach   MHookstead@dbq.edu   x3209
    Mick Miyamoto   Assistant Football Coach   MMiyamoto@dbq.edu   x3270
    Austin Hughes   Assistant Football Coach   AHughes@dbq.edu   x3781
    Jay Schlichte   Graduate Assistant Football   JSchlichte@dbq.edu   x3747 
    Jeremy Whitlow   Graduate Assistant Football   JWhitlow@dbq.edu   x3747
   
   

Men's and Women's Golf

       
    Dustin Bierman   Director of Golf   DBierman@dbq.edu   x3230
    Kate Striepe   Graduate Assistant Golf   KStriepe@dbq.edu    
   
   

Men's Lacrosse

       
    Kasey Burst   Head Men's Lacrosse Coach   KBurst@dbq.edu   x3428
    Nathaniel Davis   Graduate Assistant Men's Lacrosse   NDavis@dbq.edu    x3240
    Zachary Howe   Assistant Men's Lacrosse Coach   ZHowe@dbq.edu    
   
   

Women's Lacrosse

       
    Sarah Decker   Head Women's Lacrosse Coach   SDecker@dbq.edu   x3683
    Danielle DelDotto   Graduate Assistant Women's Lacrosse   DDeldotto@dbq.edu    x3240
   
   

Men's Soccer

       
    Brad Johnson   Head Men's Soccer Coach   BJohnson@dbq.edu   x3692
    Viktor Bergstrand   Associate Head Men's Soccer Coach   VBergstrand@dbq.edu   x3254
    Will Hirsch   Graduate Assistant Men's Soccer   WHirsch@dbq.edu   x3734
   
   

Women's Soccer

       
    Jason Berna   Head Women's Soccer Coach   JBerna@dbq.edu   x3786
    Viktor Bergstrand   Assistant Women's Soccer Coach   VBergstrand@dbq.edu   x3254
    Alexandra Watkins     Graduate Assistant Women's Soccer   AWatkins@dbq.edu   x3553
   
   

Softball

       
    Wendi Wipperfurth   Head Softball Coach   WWipperfurth@dbq.edu   x3229
    Mark Rako   Assistant Softball Coach   MRako@dbq.edu    
    Caitlin Aulwes   Graduate Assistant Softball   CAulwes@dbq.edu   x3348
   
   

Men's and Women's Tennis

       
    Claudio Giraldi   Head Men's and Women's Tennis Coach   CGiraldi@dbq.edu   x3706
    Dishon Deering   Volunteer Assistant Tennis Coach   DDeering@dbq.edu    
    Nikolay Gospodinov   Volunteer Assistant Tennis Coach   NGospodinov@dbq.edu    
    TBA   Graduate Assistant Tennis       x3706
   
   

Men's and Women's Track & Field

       
    Chad Gunnelson   Director of Track & Field   CGunnelson@dbq.edu   x3860
    Geoff Gundlach   Assistant Track & Field Coach   GGundlach@dbq.edu   x3714
    Jake Malm   Assistant Track & Field Coach   MMalm@dbq.edu   x3714
    Evan Zurbuchen   Assistant Track & Field Coach   EZurbuchen@dbq.edu    
    Ryan Bartell   Graduate Assistant Track & Field    RBartell@dbq.edu   x3714
   
   

Volleyball

       
    April Elsbernd   Head Volleyball Coach   AElsbernd@dbq.edu   x3231
    Nick Pinnola   Graduate Assistant Volleyball   NPinnola@dbq.edu   x3228
   
   

Wrestling

       
    Jon McGovern   Head Wrestling Coach   JMcGover@dbq.edu   x3685
    Michael Mena   Head Assistant Wrestling Coach   MMena@dbq.edu   x3347
    Ben Peterson   Assistant Wrestling Coach        
    Greg Lettman   Volunteer Assistant Wrestling   GLettman@dbq.edu    
    Michael Case   Graduate Assistant Wrestling   MCase@dbq.edu    
    Chayse Jackson   Graduate Assistant Wrestling   CSJackson@dbq.edu