Faculty and Staff


Natalie Weber
Natalie Weber
Program Director / Assistant Professor, Physician Assistant Program

PA-C, MPAS, Des Moines University
BS,Loras College

Office Phone: 563.589.3665
E-mail: nweber@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 120F Linda Chlapaty Hall
Fax: 563.589.3650

Emily Appleton
Emily Appleton
Assistant Professor, Physician Assistant Program

PA-C, MPAS, University of Iowa
BA, University of Iowa

Office Phone: 563.589.3864
E-mail: eappleton@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 120A Linda Chlapaty Hall
Fax: 563.589.3650
Biography - Click Here

Attended Wartburg College for two years, graduated from University of Iowa with a BA in Biology in 1997. Graduated from University of Iowa PA Program in 1999. Practiced family/general medicine in Mount Vernon, IA, from 1999-2017.


Bindu Balakrishnan
Bindu Balakrishnan
Assistant Professor, Physician Assistant Program

PhD, National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences - India
MSc Physiology, Kasturba Medical College - India

Office Phone: 563.589.3261
E-mail: bbalakrishnan@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 104D University Science Center
Fax: 563.589.3688

Patti Burgmeier
Patti Burgmeier
Admission Director, Physician Assistant Program

MSE, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
BS, College of St. Theresa

Office Phone: 563.589.3664
E-mail: pburgmeier@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 120B Linda Chlapaty Hall
Fax: 563.589.3650

William Karkow
William Karkow
Academic Director, Physician Assistant Program

MD, University of Illinois-Chicago
General Surgery Residency, University of Iowa
BA, University of Illinois-Urbana

Office Phone: 563.589.3143
E-mail: wkarkow@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 120I Linda Chlapaty Hall
Fax: 563.589.3650
Biography - Click Here

Past President, Iowa Chapter, American College of Surgeons Surgical Practice 1984-2005 Vascular Surgery Fellowship, Cincinnati, OH General Surgery Residency, U. of Iowa MD, U. Of Illinois - Chicago BA, Chemistry, U. Of Illinois - Urbana


Jessica Kemp
Jessica Kemp
Clinical Placement Director, Physician Assistant Program

MOL, Clarke University
BA, Clarke University

Office Phone: 563.589.3563
E-mail: jkemp@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 120C Linda Chlapaty Hall
Fax: 563.589.3650

Cortney Kueter
Cortney Kueter
Assistant Professor, Physician Assistant Program

PA-C, MPAS, Des Moines University
BS, Loras College

Office Phone: 563.589.3662
E-mail: cmkueter@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 120A Linda Chlapaty Hall
Fax: 563.589.3650
Biography - Click Here

I am currently an assistant professor with the PA program. I also am a practicing PA in Internal Medicine, for the past 10 years. I earned my undergraduate bachelor's of science degree in Biology, from Loras College, with minors in Chemistry and Psychology.


Tanya Miller
Tanya Miller
Clinical Program Specialist, Physician Assistant Program


Office Phone: 563.589.3667
E-mail: Temiller@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 120D Linda Chlapaty Hall

Cheryl Straub Morarend
Cheryl Straub Morarend
Clinical Education Director/Associate Professor,
Physician Assistant Program

DDS, University of Missouri-Kansas City
General Dentistry Residency, University of Iowa



Office Phone: 563.589.3661
E-mail: CStraub@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 120E Linda Chlapaty Hall
Fax: 563.589.3650

Emily Vyverberg
Emily Vyverberg
Adjunct Professor, Physician Assistant Program

PharmD

E-mail: Evyverberg@dbq.edu