Academic Success Center Staff


Joe Green
Joe Green
Associate Dean of Teaching & Learning, Director of the Academic Success Center

PhD, University of Missouri
MA, Truman State University
BA, Truman State University

Office Phone: 563.589.3570
E-mail: jgreen@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 215 Charles C. Myers Library
Fax: 563.589.3722

Casey Arensdorf
Casey Arensdorf
Developmental Learning Specialist, TRiO/Student Support Services

BS, University of Dubuque
BBA, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3758
E-mail: carensdo@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 213 Charles C. Myers Library
Fax: 563.589.3722

Dishon Deering
Dishon Deering
Adjunct Professor in Communication
Bridge Lab Coordinator
Volunteer Assistant Men's and Women's Tennis Coach

MA, Communications
BA, Criminal Justice

Office Phone: 563.589.3554
E-mail: ddeering@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 205 Charles C. Myers Library
Biography - Click Here

Deering was a four-year letterwinner for the University of Dubuque in men's tennis and filled in for Head Coach Claudio Giraldi (military obligations) in the fall of 2015.

Under Deering's watch, the women's tennis team place seventh in the Iowa Conference and saw two players, sophomore Arantxa Martinez and freshman Marissa Joers, earn All-IIAC singles and doubles recognition, respectively. Martinez placed runner-up in IIAC Flight A Singles Championship and Joers won Flight C Singles Championship.

He was Academic All-Iowa Conference for three years and graduated cum laude in criminal justice in 2014 with a cumulative grade point average of 3.5. He is a member of the Omega Psi Phi fraternity and was active in community service while at UD. He was a member of the NCAA Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) at UD and was selected to be part of a regional SAAC Leadership Workshop.

Deering was a varsity student-athlete who competed in every singles position, one through six, throughout his career as a Spartan. He is a native of Winter Springs, Fla. where he was a three-year letterwinner at Winter Springs High School and was a district runner-up.

 



James Drury
James Drury
Assistant Director of Academic Success Center

MBA, University of Dubuque
BS, University of Dubuque

Office Phone: 563.589.3679
E-mail: jdrury@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 213 Charles C. Myers Library
Fax: 563.589.3722
Biography - Click Here

James Drury graduated with honors from the University of Dubuque with a BS in Flight Operations and Aviation Management, with a minor in Business.  He is currently scheduled to complete his BBA in the Fall of 2013.  James is an FAA certified Ground Instructor with Advanced and Instrument ratings.  Before receiving his BS, James worked as a peer tutor in the Academic Success Center.  In addition to working as a professional math tutor, James teaches developmental math at the University of Dubuque. 


Pamela Fields
Pamela Fields
Director of the Bridge Program

EdD

Office Phone: 563.589.3218
E-mail: pfields@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 205 Charles C. Myers Library

Bart Frederick
Bart Frederick
Academic Advisor and Assistant Director for TRiO/Student Support Services


Office Phone: 563.589.3731
E-mail: BFrederick@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 216 Charles C. Myers Library

Melissa Huekels
Melissa Huekels
TRiO/Student Support Services Program Director

MAE, University of Northern Iowa
BA, Loras College

Office Phone: 563.589.3422
E-mail: mhuekels@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 209 Charles C. Myers Library
Fax: 563.589.3722

Liza Johnson
Liza Johnson
Assistant Director to the President for Diamond

MAOM, Ashford University
MA, St. Xavier University
BA, Loras College

Office Phone: 563.589.3332
E-mail: ldjohnson@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 309 Van Vliet Hall
Fax: 563.589.3419

Sue Ann Marino
Sue Ann Marino
Professional Writing Consultant and Adjunct Communication Faculty

MA, DePaul University
BA, University of Iowa

Office Phone: 563.589.3641
E-mail: smarino@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 217 Charles C. Myers Library
Fax: 563.589.3722

Antonio Mouzon
Antonio Mouzon
Personal Empowerment Facilitator


E-mail: AMouzon@dbq.edu 

Matt Muilenburg
Matt Muilenburg
Assistant Professor of Writing
Director of ENG 090 Program

MFA, Wichita State University
BA, Western Illinois University

Office Phone: 563.589.3798
E-mail: mmuilenburg@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 303 Van Vliet

Megan Ruiz
Megan Ruiz
Disability Services Coordinator, TRiO Academic Advisor

MA, University of Northern Iowa
BA, University of Northern Iowa

Office Phone: 563.589.3757
E-mail: mkruiz@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 206 Charles C. Myers Library
Fax: 563.589.3722

Kay Smith
Kay Smith
Administrative Assistant


Office Phone: 563.589.3262
E-mail: kasmith@dbq.edu 
Office Location: 213 Charles C. Myers Library
Fax: 563.589.3722